A merry Monday: sharing treasures from the library

by Kajsa Josephine

Entered the weekend with a sore throat and a head aching. Thankfully I’m much better now.  While resting on the couch I finished reading The Zahir. Finally. The book itself is noticeably drawing inspiration from Homer’s The Odyssey. Another book I’ve read. I don’t like to brag much but I feel very proud having read the complete and unabridged edition. Of course an English version.

While The Odyssey was more straightforward and contained vast amounts of details, The Zahir of course more fixed in the present did confuse me sometimes. Nonetheless it proved to be an easier task understanding the details in The Zahir.  Both books share a common trait since they’re both about personal journeys through life. Hence Homer’s journey colored overall with too thorough details for me to comprehend.  More than once while reading a frustration grew inside, while a thought was planted: I should’ve opened the dictionary on more occasions.

Paulo Coelho therefore didn’t challenge me on such levels, very pleasant of course. I’m extremely curios how my next adventure ends. Borrowed yet another book. The Death of Vishnu by Manil Suri. Time will only tell if I finish in time and if the book was worth investing energy in.

Photography by: Kajsa Josephine

Bookmark by: Kajsa Josephine (Idea from: I Could Make That) Photography via: The Amused Eye

