On a Wednesday: thoughts about the future

by Kajsa Josephine

I don’t know how often people ask you about where you would like to work eventually.  If you are somewhat like me a tad impulsive and possess many interests, it might be a journey containing anticipation for what’s ahead.  I’m very excited for the future. Returning back to my topic  if someone had asked me specifically ten years or more ago my reply in confidence would be: a suit-wearing woman travelling across Europe to review hotels.  I’m not quite sure if there is such a job at all, but that was my dream profession.  With this in mind I thought why not write a few reviews here.  Being well aware of different sites covering the subject.

I’ll begin with my latest travel to my beloved Berlin.  I’ve stayed at the same hotel twice actually.  Nicely situated within five minutes from U Wittenbergplatz (my favorite station) and in close range to the shopping mall KaDeWe.  What I like about this specific hotel is that there is little that makes me bothered.  You probably won’t find this in a book about architectural wonders but it covers the bare necessities and more.  The bed is a tad hard but I never sleep better.  Though a backside might be the expensive breakfast offered, how I solve that is buying cheap rye bread, liver paste and cucumber at Kaisers.  Also, if you are in the city to enjoy the night a hotel closer to Alexanderplatz might be a valuable tip. Not that travelling with the subway during night is problematic, I have never felt more safe than in Berlin.  Overall I wouldn’t hesitate to book this hotel again, of course if a great offer arrives. Notice that I only have experienced the business category.

View, top floor

U Wittenbergplatz


The Bathroom, usually a well-lit experience.

Photography by: Kajsa Josephine

Hotel: Best Western Hotel President Berlin

