Friday mornings: marks the beginning of delightful weekends

by Kajsa Josephine

By request I prepared a salmon dish yesterday. Sometimes I don’t have a plan. I just google and voila clever ideas comes my way. What I did was simply chop tomatoes and red onions. Piled the slices on top of the fish. Sprinkled basil.  Then some lemon drops and it all ended in a high-note with salt and pepper. Afterwards I decorated the table while it cooked for about 20 minutes.  I also prepared a side-salad, well to be absolutely honest what I thought was salad turned out be cabbage instead.

Lately, I’ve gotten used to cabbage. There is always cabbage in the fridge nowadays. A reason is probably the price. Cabbage is not the most expensive item in grocery stores.  Another reason why I’m more accustomed to the vegetable is Sweden, where I lived a year. They serve some kind-of cabbage mix alongside dinners. Carrots might be in there too. I don’t think the details matter.

All that matters is finding the sun again. It has rained pretty much every day now and it doesn’t get better next week. Therefore I think creating a nice summer atmosphere inside will be just the thing for this up-coming weekend. My salmon dish is one idea. Prepare this, decorate a nice table and put on your best summer music. I’ve already delighted the first days of summer with my favorites from the Mediterranean area.

Photography by Kajsa Josephine & Maria Reiakvam

The music served with the meal

Kostas Martakis – Pou Na Se Vro

Sakis Rouvas – I Dio Mas

Michalis Hatzigiannis – To Kalokairo Mou

Helena Paparizou & Onirama – Fysika Mazi

Nikos Vertis – Eimai Mazi Sou

