Tuesday mornings: are for healthy beginnings

by Kajsa Josephine

I don’t think there is a better way to enter a new day than a varied breakfast. Mine contained parsley, sliced egg, tunafish, cucumbers, red pepper and avocado.  A couple of wise people taught me to like avocado and no breakfast is complete without it.  However, the experience would’ve been enhanced if the weather outside had been better. There is little promise of rapid change. As I write the wind combs gently through the trees outside.  While the stems bends from side to side. Like a dance.  Rain and humid weather is always a welcomed treat for the soil, so perhaps with a bit of patience it will return something as a “thank you.!

Xerxes at the Hellespont, Turkey

Anyhow, the weather didn’t spoil the breakfast I was about to indulge this morning.  Among other findings at the library yesterday I made sure a couple of movies came with it. What genre was of little  importance. A movie is a movie.  Therefore with the already healthy breakfast I thought why not watch something healthy too.  I therefore placed the disc, turned it on and was about to embark on a southern expedition.  Getting onboard and on-foot with Cyrus, Darius and Xerxes to mention my travel companions. They followed me to places like Persepolis, Susa and Hellespont. Such a great way to enter a new day I thought, and in some way I got good weather after all.

Cuneiform, near Susa, Iran

Persepolis

Photography via Persian EmpireSpokane Community College & Elias Pirasteh

