Yummy Monday – Cafe Tudor

by Kajsa Josephine

It was my intent to write everything about my culinary experiences in Denmark but they’ll have to stand in line, just savoring it all up. While that is in progress I want to pay closer attention to what people ate in Tudor times. It’s safe to say that filling out your job resume back then contained other qualifications. One important position was the Groom of the Stool, no need to hand you all the details necessary.

Other important duties was keeping the kitchen up and running for the royals, so they could focus entirely on their royal life. I think if there is one job I would try my best avoiding by all means was the rather sweaty task of turning the meat. But I guess in Tudor times you had no choice, what was the option?

Anyway here is a great recipe for a 1557 Strawberry Tart for the Modern Kitchen

For the fruit filling

  • 500g strawberries
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 slices of bread, grated to make breadcrumbs
  • 150g brown sugar (demerara)
  • 100g unsalted butter (melted)

For the pastry

  • 300g plain flour
  • 150g whole meal flour
  • 200g butter, softened
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 tbsp water (warm)
  • 2 strands of saffron

For more details as I think it is proper to get to know another who takes interest in Anne Boleyn, the more the merrier I would dare to say. Let’s fill up the table and make it into a private Tudor Cafe.

Photo via Tudor Food

